Past winners look for repeat at House of Kin awards

by Community Submission | May 15, 2013
House Kin Winners

From left, Carling Zeeman, Shawna Metcalf and Samantha Cooper are finalists for three different awards at this year’s House of Kin Sudbury Sports Celebrity Dinner and Awards. Each of the three women were also winners at last year’s celebration. FILE PHOTOS

Three female athletes are looking to repeat as major award winners at the 45th annual House of Kin Sudbury Sports Celebrity Dinner and Awards.

Carling Zeeman, Shawna Metcalf and Samantha Cooper are three of the 33 finalists. Winners will be announced June 12 at the Caruso Club.

Representing Laurentian University, Zeeman is a finalist for the Import Athlete of the Year Award — an award she shared with Laurentian basketball player Manny Pasquale. Metcalf, representing Cambrian College, is once again nominated for the Amateur Female Athlete of the Year Award, while Cooper, a student from Lockerby Composite School, is a finalist for the High School Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Tickets are now on sale at the House of Kin at 1889 Regent St. Cost is $45 for adults and $20 for youngsters under the age of 10. Tickets can also be purchased by phoning Chris Sheridan or Karly Fletcher at 705-522-3600.

Major award finalists:

High School Female Athlete of the Year
- Elissa Bertuzzi (Lively Hawks golf, hockey, soccer and flag football)
- Eve Boissonneault (College Notre-Dame Alouettes track and field, cross country running and hockey)
- Samantha Cooper (Lockerby Vikings basketball and volleyball)

High School Male Athlete of the Year
- Josh Harkins (Bishop Alexander Carter Golden Gators tennis, football, soccer and hockey)
- Brandon Mask (Lasalle Lancers track and field, basketball and volleyball)
- Keegan Moore (Lo-Ellen Park Knights track and field, volleyball, football and hockey)

Bill Roman Administration
- Jim McLaughlin (Valley East Minor Hockey)
- Chris Ransom (alpine skiing)
- Gerry Young (Nickel City Midget ‘AAA’ Sons Hockey)

Joe Drago Coach of the Year
- Dale Beausoleil (Cambrian College volleyball)
- Andy Lalonde (Laurentian University Wrestling)
- Mike Sheridan (Lockerby Vikings senior girls’ basketball)

Import Athlete of the Year
- Sasha Polishchuk (Laurentian University basketball)
- Alex Rate (Laurentian University basketball)
- Carling Zeeman (Laurentian University Rowing)

Elite Athlete of the Year
- Caroline Ehrhardt (track and field)
- Meagan Duhamel (Skating)
- Jason Lane (cycling)

Professional Athlete of the Year
- Paul Dainton (goaltender – AHL’s Springfield Falcons)
- Mitch Gagnon (mixed martial arts)
- James Larmer (cycling)

Amateur Female
- Shawna Metcalf (Cambrian College volleyball)
- Crystal Sabel (Walden Wolfpack mountain biking)
- Jillian Shell (Cambrian College volleyball)

Amateur Male
- Damien Giroux (Nickel City Major Peewee ‘AAA’ Sons Hockey
- Michael Marcantognini (Team Ontario Soccer)
- Georges Serresse (Laurentian University basketball

Sheridan Family Team of the Year
- Cambrian College Golden Shield (women’s volleyball)
- Nickel City Major Peewee ‘AAA’ Sons (hockey)
- Sudbury Under-15 Impact (girls’ soccer)

Dr. Fred Sheridan High School Team of the Year
- 2012 Confederation Chargers (Midget boys’ basketball)
- 2012 Lockerby Vikings (junior Girls’ cross-country running)
- 2012 Lockerby Vikings (Girls/Boys alpine skiing)

Comment Policy may contain content submitted by readers, usually in the form of article comments. All reader comments and any opinions, advice, statements or other information contained in any messages posted or transmitted by any third party are the responsibility of the author of that message and not of The fact that a particular message is posted on or transmitted using this web site does not mean that has endorsed that message in any way or verified the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message. We encourage visitors to to report any objectionable content by using the "report abuse" link found in the comments section of this web site.