Mazzuca steps down as NOJHL commissioner

by Community Submission | June 23, 2015

NOJHL logo

Robert Mazzuca has stepped down from his position as commissioner of the NOJHL. FILE PHOTO

The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Monday that Robert Mazzuca has stepped down from his position as NOJHL Commissioner to pursue other opportunities.

The announcement comes following the NOJHL Board Meetings held over the weekend in Sault Ste. Marie.

A search for a new commissioner will commence immediately. Interested applicants are asked to submit their notices of interest to NOJHL executive director Ted Magee at [email protected] The deadline for applications is July 10.

Also at the meetings, the board established an executive committee, headed up by a chairman of the board as well as being comprised of one representative each from the east and west. Heading up the committee as chairman of the board is Timmins Rock president Scott Marshall.

Jim Taylor of the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners will serve as the east representative while Todd Stencill of the Elliot Lake Wildcats will represent the west.

In discussing Mazzuca, newly appointed chairman of the board Marshall offered these thoughts:

“Robert Mazucca has been a tremendous asset to the NOJHL, a great friend, leader and innovator. The league has made enormous progress under Robert’s watch and we are most grateful for his outstanding work ethic, vision and guidance. We wish Robert every success in his new endeavours and know he will succeed in whatever he decides to pursue. He will be sorely missed and the new commissioner will have very big shoes to fill.”

Other agenda items finalized at the board meeting over the weekend include the following:

DIVISIONS: The 12-team NOJHL will be divided into two divisions for the 2015-16 season.

Comprising the NOJHL East will be the Cochrane Crunch, French River Rapids, Iroquois Falls Eskimos, Kirkland Lake Gold Miners, Powassan Voodoos and the Timmins Rock.

In the NOJHL West it will be the Blind River Beavers, Elliot Lake Wildcats, Espanola Express, Rayside-Balfour Canadians, Soo Eagles in Michigan and the Soo Thunderbirds.

SCHEDULE: The league will play an unbalanced 54-game regular season schedule commencing Sept. 9 and concluding March 9.

PLAYOFFS: The top five teams in each division will advance to the league playoffs.

Postseason play will commence with the fourth and fifth place teams in each division playing a best-of-three elimination series.

The surviving squad will then take on the top seed in their division in a best-of-seven series while the No. 2 and No. 3 sides will do likewise.

All remaining league playoff series will all be best-of-seven affairs.

Comment Policy may contain content submitted by readers, usually in the form of article comments. All reader comments and any opinions, advice, statements or other information contained in any messages posted or transmitted by any third party are the responsibility of the author of that message and not of The fact that a particular message is posted on or transmitted using this web site does not mean that has endorsed that message in any way or verified the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message. We encourage visitors to to report any objectionable content by using the "report abuse" link found in the comments section of this web site.

sesli sohbet